top of page
Search

"Toco's how we look, playbook" A book review about how to teach children about differences.

“Did you know that even babies notice differences in how we look?”- This is one of the first paragraphs you will see in the book “Toco’s How we look” playbook by Indigrow.


After collaborating with them for the Day of the Dead celebration kit, I received, what I consider now, my most precious and valuable resource as a mother of an African-Mexican daughter. I received a copy of this book and access to a world of eye opening, and heartwarming guides that gives me a peace of mind and the courage to face and address difficult conversations, that most likely will come up with my daughter. Conversations about the reality of the challenges she will face because of her diverse looks and heritage.


Some time ago, I was a guest in the podcast Inclusion School in which we discuss how to approach those difficult conversations with young children and create cultural awareness using books as inspiration. Well, this is one of those books. Indigrow’s “Toco’s How we look” playbook, is the best resource out there that I have come across so far. It goes way beyond a book’s read aloud, it also provides parents with guides to conversations and hands on activities about many challenging topics that we could face, and gives children a deeper understanding.


Indigrow provides parents with a bank of ready to go, fun activities to build confidence and celebrate differences from an early age. Some of the conversations you will find are:


  • Why is my skin darker?

  • Why do my eyes look different?

  • Why is my hair crazy?

  • Why I’m I short?

  • Can he play with us if he is on a wheelchair?

  • Why did he call me fat?

  • Why does her hair look like it’s on fire?

  • Why does a body part of his is not working?

  • How many skin colors are there?

  • What is a scar?

  • Why do you wear glasses?

  • And many many more.



As a mother, one of my biggest concerns, is for my child to be bullied, specially about physical appearances and heritage. Now, I have high quality resources that can assist me to raise a strong confident child. I believe in research and I have been doing my homework on how to prepare myself and be ready to help my daughter when she faces adversity, and it wasn’t until I came across this book and guides by Indigrow that I can say I really feel ready.


This review is fully coming from a grateful heart to Kshama and Akhila for creating an amazing company and providing this treasure to all mothers out there.


Reminder: Exposure to multicultural differences, identity nurturing and diversity celebration, needs to start in Early Childhood (0-5 years old) because the impact lasts a lifetime.


This is a formal book review and the opinions expressed are purely my own.

For more information about Indigrow’s work, visit www.indigrowkids.com


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page